Advice on XIDA's

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on XIDA's

I have an '01 miata LS that's a weekend street + 6-time-a-year HPDE car. I was planning on purchasing a new set of gen 2 XIDA's with 700/400 + helper springs for my '01, but found a gen 1 set online for ~$500 less. It's got about 10k miles on it, and 850/550 springs with helpers. My car is currently running 205/50 15 RE71R's. I'm an intermediate HPDE driver.

So my question: anyone have any experience with these setups that could advise me on this decision? Help is much appreciated as it's a big purchase either way!

I've driven both generations and had a set of the first gens for about 6 years. I'd buy new because by the time you get the spring rates you want the price difference will narrow more. Plus buying new you'll likely get better service from 949 Racing should you have any issues. If they were both new, I'd still pay $500 more for gen 2 Xidas I think.
    99 Mazda Miata SuperMiata #515 - AKA Sparky SOLD
    '91 Mariner Blue Miata project AKA Napoleon

Comment

Same here. $500 difference for difference gen AND being used is just not enough
      S1 Supermiata - 220whp
      13 Tesla, ma: no engine !!
      17 GT350R
      03 Miata Club Sport
      96 NSX
      06 EVO MR
      15 Mini Cooper S
      Beck 550 Spyder

Comment

Thanks all! That's exactly the information I needed. I passed on the deal. Much appreciated.

Comment

Decided to suck it up and go with new XIDA's. These arrived Saturday. Not sure whether to install them or frame them and hang them on the wall. Too pretty for track car parts!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1824.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	1.51 MB
ID:	232349

Comment

I need to buy some of these too. The thinking part is done it's the scraping money together to actually buy them that is proving difficult at the moment.

Comment